The 2014 Ocean Beach Town Council Awards Dinner was held at Shades Oceanfront Bistro on Tuesday, October 14th.  To recognize significant community contributions and persons making a difference in OB, the Council presented  “Obie” Awards to the following persons and entities:


The OB Rag and Frank Gormlie for providing one of the best resources and platforms to learn from one another and for creating community partnership through community education. Click here to read the OB Rag article on their award, and this article for additional coverage of the event.


OB Playhouse & Cultural Art Center, Lynne & Paul Bolton in recognition of their dedication to bringing delightful visual and performance art to the shores of Ocean Beach.


Junior Lifeguards and Cory McClelland in recognition of their sponsorship of enriching activities for the youth of Ocean Beach and surrounding communities.


Nancy Vaughn in recognition of her dedicated leadership and enthusiastic participation in events that benefit Ocean Beach and the surrounding community.


John Vorderbruegge in recognition of his steadfast support of OBTC and his regular organization of and participation in clean-up activities around Ocean Beach.

“GREEN” BUILDING:                           

OB Woman’s Club in recognition of their past, present and future as a champion of “green” projects to benefit the community of Ocean Beach.


San Diego Park & Recreation Department and Vincent Paniagua in recognition of their dedication and perseverance to keeping Ocean Beach’s Parks and recreational areas beautiful.


Integrated Signs and Steve Clippinger in recognition of their outstanding recreation of our beloved community entryway sign.


Shades Oceanfront Bistro and Dave Martin in recognition of your steadfast and enthusiastic participation and the annual Pancake Breakfast and the annual Food & Toy Drive.


Photo by Mercy Baron
Photo by Mercy Baron

The OB Town Council honored Claudia Jack “in recognition of the countless hours of service and consistent dedication to preserving the Ocean Beach Community’s character” with the first ever OBTC Lifetime Service Award. Claudia has been a core volunteer in the Ocean Beach community for more than 20 years. She has previously served on the OB Town Council, the Ocean Beach Mainstreet Association, and acted as chair of the OB Christmas Tree Committee, and the OB Holiday Parade. She also organizes and volunteers at every OBTC Craft Fair throughout the year, and volunteers her time outside of Ocean Beach, being heavily involved in the St. Patricks day parade, and numerous other events throughout the community. Thank you, Claudia for your service and inspiring others to volunteer!


Our 2014 OB Citizen of the Year is Mindy Pellissier – in recognition of and appreciation for the creative energy and dedicated leadership she brings to the community of Ocean Beach. Mindy was instrumental in the update of the Ocean Beach Community Plan (which was approved unanimously by City Council). She has worked diligently on the plan for the past 12 years, and has been a resident of OB for more than 20 years, and is co-owner of Dog Beach Dog Wash!

In addition to the OBie Awards Ceremony, we provided an overview of our annual accomplishments; Congressman Scott Peters and Councilman Ed Harris offered formal remarks; and the OBTC recognized and thanked the community representatives for our elected officials (Sterling McHale, Chet Barfield, Rachel Gregg, Roberto Alcantar, Shea Benton, Grace Liu, and Ian Clampett), Councilman Ed Harris, and Lt. Natalie Stone for a solid year of exceptional service. We also recognized our retiring OBTC Boardmembers: Jim Musgrove (2005-2014); Jody Thompson (2013-2014); Dave Cieslak (2012-2014); Ken Moss (2012-2014); Jeri Ryan (2004-2014); Stephen Grosch (2012-2014); and Melinda Therkalsen (2011-2014).

Finally, we swore in our new 2014-2015 Board of Directors and wished everyone good night!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Please fill in the following, so we know this isn\'t spam: *